5 Nigerians That Have Won The BET Award For Best International Act: Africa

Dbanj & Tuface – 2011

In 2011, the organizers of The BET Awards, created the Best International Act – Africa category, and it was designed specifically for two artistes to jointly snag the award.

This saw veteran act, 2face Idibia and D’banj, picking up this award due to their unstoppable power of artistry and brilliance in churning out major back to back hits and strategically putting their sound out there for the world to listen to.

They were nominated alongside: Congolese singer Fally Ipupa, South African rap duo TeargasD-Blackfrom Ghana and the legendary singerAngelique Kidjo.

Wizkid – 2012

Starboy Wizzy, picked up this award back in 2012 while still signed to EME. Just a year before snagging this award, Wizkid, released his debut hit album, Superstar, which helped him ink his name into the Nigerian music industry and gradually carve a pathway to the international market.

Wizkid and Ghanaian rapper, Sarkodie, both won the award that year. Both artistes were nominated alongside: Camp Mulla (Kenya), Ice Prince (Nigeria), Lira(South Africa) and Mokobe (Mali)

READ ALSO :  Police detain man for reporting Enugu CP, Abubakar, to IG

Ice Prince – 2013

Ice Prince made history by becoming the first single recipient of the honor.

The rapper, who was then signed to Chocolate City was nominated alongside2face Idibia, Ugandan singers, Goodlyfe Crew, Ghanaian duo, R2Bees, South African artistes Toya Delazy and Donald.

Davido – 2014

In 2013, the singer released his hit single Gobe, which went on to set the pace for many more hits from his stables to include 2014’s AYE, a song which not only saw him winning the BET award but saw him being nominated for several other international awards that year, to include: 2014 MTV European Music Awards (EMA) and KORA awards months after he won BET’s “Best African Act of the Year”, VGMA’s “African Artiste of the Year”, MAMA’s “Artiste of the Year” and AFRIMMA’s “Artiste of the Year” awards in 2014.

He was nominated alongside: Nigeria’sTiwa Savage, Tanzania’s Diamond Platnumz, Ghana’s Sarkodie, South Africa’s Mafikizolo and Togo’s Toofan.

Share This With Your Friends


My Name is Williams, the Founder/CEO of this Blog, I am a full time Blogger and Social Media Publicist. I'm an undergraduate of FUTMINNA. Kindly Subscribe above to get our latest News via Your Email. Its Nice Having You Here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *